

Minutes

At a meeting of the Full Council held at Committee Room D, County Hall, Preston, on Friday, 15th September, 2023

Present:

County Councillor Tim Ashton (Vice-Chairman)

County Councillors

A Ali OBE N Aziz L Beavers J Berry J Burrows A Cheetham S Clarke A Clempson M Clifford L Cox A Cullens BEM M Dad BEM JP F De Molfetta G Dowding C Edwards J Fillis A Gardiner G Gooch M Goulthorp	H Hartley C Haythornthwaite N Hennessy S Hind A Hindle D Howarth T Hurn N Khan E Lewis M Maxwell-Scott J Mein G Mirfin S C Morris D O'Toole J Parr M Pattison E Pope J Potter J Purcell	P Rigby S Rigby A Riggott M Salter A Schofield S Serridge J Shedwick J R Singleton JP S Smith K Snape A Sutcliffe R Swarbrick C Towneley S Turner A Vincent D Westley S Whittam P Williamson R Woollam
M Green	J Rear	B Yates

1. Apologies and Announcements

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillors Aldridge, Bailey, Barnes, Britcliffe, Brown, Collinge, Couperthwaite, Gibson, Holgate, Hosker, Jones, Kay, Motala, Oakes and Tomlinson.

County Councillors Arif, Buckley, Iqbal, Hasina Khan, Nweeda Khan, Malik and Pate joined the meeting virtually.



Suspension of Standing Orders

At the Vice-Chairman's request, and due to the meeting not being held in the council chamber, Full Council agreed to the suspension of Standing Orders 6 and 45(3), i.e. those which specify that each seat in the Council Chamber shall be numbered and allocated to Councillors and that Councillors must be in their designated seats for their vote to be counted, for the duration of this meeting only.

2. Disclosure of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

None declared.

3. Election of Chairman

County Councillor Tim Ashton, Vice-Chairman of the County Council, presided for this item.

It was moved by County Councillor Aidy Riggott, and seconded by County Councillor Mike Goulthorpe, that County Councillor Alan Cullens be elected Chairman of the County Council.

There being no other nominations, it was:

Resolved: - That County Councillor Alan Cullens be elected Chairman of the County Council until the Annual General Meeting of the Full Council in 2024. County Councillor Cullens then took the Chair and made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Angie Ridgwell Chief Executive

County Hall Preston

